7 Dec

Dear mom,

I ended up receiving your wonderful packages exceptionally early this week, cuz i found myself in the misión offices in Montevideo. The packages are wonderful. How did you know i needed ponytail holders and a bath scrubby and a calender? How did you know i wanted a pumpkin candle and smoked salmon? I love that hair clip thing, too. I am wearing it right now. And of course, i also love the jody dress!!!!!!

Ha, and sorry, i opened the wrapped presents, too. I couldn´t wait. It was really a blessing to find those boxes in the offices, cuz my comp and i ended up in Montevideo under lame circumstances.

i´ve been feeling pretty sick for the past few weeks, but i didn´t say much until last week, cuz i didn´t want to stress you out. The whole time i´ve been here, the greasy food people have given me hasn´t agreed with my stomach, but in the past month or so, it´s gotten worse and worse. Like, spending the entire afternoon in bed after eating with members. The misión does not give us Money enough to pay for our own dinners, so , without many other options, i just kept eating the greasy food, walking home with my comp, and going to bed to try to sleep the abdominal pain off. It felt like the food just wouldn´t digest, and it took about 8 hours to feel better.

I´m still not entirely sure what happened on Tuesday, except i got way, way, sicker. It might have been cuz i didn´t really eat on Monday at all, except for a milanesa (breaded, fried, chicken breast) that a member offered me in an obligatory manner. It hit me HARD, and by Tuesday afternoon, i almost fainted in the street and had a low fever.

My comp helped me to arrange to visit a doctor here in pysandú, and when he poked me REALLY hard where my apendix is, of course, i said it hurt. Cuz he poked me really, really hard. He then was pretty sure i had apendicitus, and started talking a lot in spanish medical terms, something i haven´t quite yet learned. So i didn´t quite understand him. But my comp thought i did. All  i got was, ´we are going to keep you here tonight… do you have fear of the knife?´ and then i looked and saw blood all over the hallway floor, and when the nurse pulled a pain med. Iv out of my arm, she stuck it into the cot like it was a pin cushion, i said, yes, i was afraid of the knife, and would rather go home and see how i felt.

So we went back to the apartment and the mish prez called and it was all really confusing, but cuz the doctor in pysandu thought it was apendicitus, they decided to send me to Montevideo to get a second opinión. We took a bus that night, and showed up at the hospital that morning.
They drugged me and poked me some more, tested my blood, and did an ultrasound. On the bright side, it is not apendicitus.  Turns out it´s my gallbladder. I´m developing gall stones. So now i´m on a way strict colesterol free, oil free diet…. Right after i got that box of sugar cookie mix and chili and peppermint bark. Bummer.

But luckily, it turns out that at least in this Ward, all i have to say is ´vesiculo´, and people will do their best to accommadate you. So they´re cooking me fat free things, and i´m feeling better and better.

But it´s just a bummer that i had to feel that sick and hassle the whole world to figure all of this out. Also a bummer cuz if the gall stones get worse, they´ll send me home. Apparently they can´t handle the liability of an operation like that in the misión.

But the doctor said they´re Little. So i´ll most likely be okay.

And the cans of tuna and salmon are going to help me out beautifully. And i figured out i can use the knorr seasoning packets, (again, how did you know???) , with skim milk. If anybody is feeling kind, in the future, some costco canned chicken might rock my world, too.

Ugh. So anyway. At least it´s all figured out now.

On the bright side, my comp took PICTURES(!!!!!) of me in the hospital with the IV in my arm. I´ma have my comp send them to you. Cuz she didn´t lose her camera cord in an old area like i did.

So yeah. That´s pretty much what happened this week. I felt sick.

Other than that, christmas is a way, way, bigger deal in the states than it is here. It hardly feels like christmas at all. And one of our investigators has a new pet bunny that my comp and i named alison.  And the rest of our investigators are still smoking, so we´ll see what we can do about that.

Oh, and the Ward did a living nativity on Saturday night that was really nice. It had nephites and everything. And, of course, real livestock. A hyper pony that mary rode, and an adorable lamb that hung out with the wise men.

So yeah. I love you mom! And don´t worry, i´m ok. Thank you so much for the perfect christmas boxes! I can´t wait to talk to you in a couple of weeks.
And i´m still not going to say i´m jealous about the snow. 🙂

i love you and i miss you!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

