EEEEEWWWWWWWWWW

18 Jan

Mom!  I love your groundhog´s day emails. No news is always good news, right? Send the sibs my love, and tell teenie that it´s all gonna work out.

 Ha, getting robbed? Well, it means that i didn´t find any of my Money missing out of our apartment. We´re pretty sure we know who it is who comes in and takes our Money, so we notified the local cops and the neighbors to give her the stink eye if she comes near our apartment again. So don´t worry about it. I still haven´t been robbed yet this month. But yeah.

This golden investigator? She hasn´t stopped blowing my mind. Yesterday, her second time in church, she raised her hand and explained that we Developed our personalities in the premortal existence. She then explained, perfectly, what eternal life is.  She´s incredible.  Elder Bowen noticed her, and our other investigators, and gave a wonderful talk in sacrament about the Godhead.. which is a very common investigator question, a very important principle, and sometimes, a little difficult to explain. It was really good.  It´s amazing what kind of horrible lame things start to happen when something really good starts to happen. We´re being faced with a lot of opposition.  But it´s ok.  In a way, it makes me even more happy to be able to do this.. to help this girl come to know the gospel.  If there´s this much going on to try to frustrate this, this must be something really, really good.  But if anybody would like to pray for me and my comp, I´d be really grateful. .

In other news, in response to the email from grandma Myers (which i thoroughly enjoyed), i can totally relate to praying over your food in hopes that it won´t kill you.

And now i will share my latest story as to why i am terrified of eating around here- The other day, i overdid it with the tasty chocolate milk, and found myself with an upset stomach. My comp, to comfort me, proceded to tell me that she thought i had a parasite, the…blahahablah (i don´t remember the name).  The blahblahblah is a little snake that forms in your stomach, and lives off of the food you eat. The only way to get rid of it is to fast for three days so it gets really really desperately hungry.  Then, bring warm milk to your mouth so the parasite can smell it, and it goes crazy and crawls up your asophogas, then jumps out of your mouth.  This is real.  How did i come to know of its reality?  No, don´t worry, i don´t have it.  BUT….

On new years day a family offered us a tupperware with pork in it.  The pork still had hair and was very fatty, and we did not eat it.  And, this is gross, but we threw it on the outside deck to wash it, then forgot about it.  We got ourselves on a cleaning spree during lunch the other day, and my comp discovered the closed tupperware.  She decided to clean it.  She opened the lid, and within, saw a bunch of weird foam, and the meat was gone without a trace.  Then, out of the foam, jumped a little blackish greyish orangish snake.  Like, a 5 inch long SNAKE with a HEAD.  My comp of course began to shreik and left the tupper open on the counter,  ran to my side, and began to grab me and scream.   I asked her why.  She told me to shut the tupperware, and not knowing what the big deal was,  I did it.  Then she told me, and I laughed at her really hard.  We threw the tupper away,  hoping the family will forget they loaned it to us.  So yeah.  Good thing the hair on that pork grossed me out,  Otherwise that snake would be IN MY STOMACH.  Or my comp´s.   eeeeeeeeeeeeeeew.   It´s moments like this when i miss the States. At least the rotten food there only develops mold and maggots, instead of ANIMALS.   Also,  We have made a vow to be very careful about washing things directly in the moment that we´re thinking about it.  It was all a really educational experience.

Thanks for reminding me I´m almost halfway through my misión, Anne!!  I can´t believe it. I´m also scared cuz they say that the second half passes faster than the first.   WEIRD.

In answer to your question, grandma and grandpa Roach, this girl is totally Uruguayan.  When Uruguay was settled, they did the same thing that the pilgrims did in the US.  They killed almost all the natives.  So most people around here are of Italian and Spanish descent. There are a lot of latin people too, but they´re from Brazilian or Chilean descent.  This girl´s nickname is gringa, though, cuz the people here are delightfully racist, and she is on the blonde side for the folks around here. I get told all the time that i´m a sorry excuse for a gringa cuz i don´t have blonde hair and blue eyes.

I was thinking the other day about all the things the people i have met have called me, and in the middle of my thoughts,  I began to laugh out loud.  I figured out that if I really am everything I´ve been called, I am… An enormous grandote (tall, burley) German woman with the body of the child who is also loaded with hormones and could carry many, many children. And yeah. I think that´s all.

Oh, thank aunt Kandee for the cd! I absolutely love it. My comp and i have been listening to it all week.

Tell grandpa M that my prayers are with him in his surgery and that i love him!

Leave a Reply

