15 Jun

this is me at lunch today! we got to see a little bit of the world cup from the sports bar TV. i´m totally following the world cup without any rule breaking, or trying. that´s the fun part of being in a country that actually acknowledges that it´s going on and shoots fireworks in the streets when goals are scored. the games are always turned on in all of the houses we enter.

so, my week? rad. i´m on my second trip to montevideo. we went on thursday, and the doctor poked me a bit, and sent me off for my ecogrophy, which he said he´d look at and give me my diagnosis. by the time we finished my ecogrophy and got back, he´d left town for the week.

so, i got frustrated and threw a hissy fit cuz traveling while sick isn´t much fun and that´s a six hour grey hound type bus ride that i was NOT in the mood for, so president felt bad for me and let me and hna moreno stay in the temple hostel with nice, never ending hot water showers, carpet, and a central heating system, and i went to the temple on friday morning to see the sealing of some of my comp´s converts!! i love the temple so much.

it was a really kind thing of the president to let me stay there and relax and calm down and recooperate a little bit. the mission is like, the worst possible place to feel sick. cuz all the time you spend in bed comes with a mini crisis of worry and guilt, knowing that it´s your job to be helping the children of God in your area get to know the gospel and be saved. so it´s been hard for me to relax enough and come to terms with this trial and recooperate well. to not feel crappy cuz i haven´t been able to be the ever-marching sister missionary robot i´d hoped to be. but i´m learning a lot from this.

and, for the first time in the year since i´ve been out here, i had a really good, really inspired interview with president, which left me feeling a lot better. and a lot more optimistic about the last few months of my mission.

ooooohh, and while i was at the temple, i totally bought more of those teachings of the prophets books, that i love so much. this time i brought home heber j grant, and joseph smith! and i managed to get the joseph smith one in english! which is good, cuz it´s thick. i mean, i can read in spanish preeeeeeettyyy fluidly, but english is still my native language. seriously. those modern prophets are incredible examples or exemplary people.

so anyway. we just finished up with the doctor appointment today—
and the diagnosis is—

the uruguayan food has atrophied my digestive system!!! the official word is, dispepsia hipoestemica, digestion lenta. (slow digestion) my large intestine is super inflamed.

so what does this mean? uruguayan food has been about as good for me as, i dunno, drinking drain-o. it´s full of viruses and parasites and it´s dirty and heavy and greasy, and well, my guts seem to be of a more delicate constitution.

so i asked the doctor when i would get better. he laughed and said, ´when you get back to the states and start eating the cleaner, healthier food that your system is accustomed to again. your digestive system simply can´t handle this stuff. that´s why you´ve been tired all the time, too. this diet i´m giving you might help you get by for the next few months, but you won´t get better until you get back to the states.´

so the doctor gave me a strict, strict diet of fat-free stuff and bottled mineral water and cooked vegetables and jell-o.

i am up to my ears in jell-o. it´s like, the national diet food around here. which is like, a cruel joke, cuz chocolate now officially sits on my list of forbidden pleasures. along with oranges. which kind of surprised me. who´d have thought there could be something harmful in a friendly little orange?

but yeah. overall, i´m happy. after wondering if i was experiencing liver failure or stomach cancer or hepatitis, i´m glad to know that, although they´re having a hard time struggling along amid this abuse, all of my internal organs are in functioning order.

so yeah. that´s my week. i love you and i miss you, family!! i send a huge high five and hug and dance of jubilation to teenie to celebrate the awesome news of this week!

and to everybody else i send lots of love too!

One Response to “”

  1. Michelle June 20, 2010 at 12:00 am #

    ALLIE! I am glad you arent dying! I love reading your posts and I am really excited to see you when you get home! well I just thought you should know that I love you and I think of you and your family often! Be safe and keep teaching the word! By the way I am thinking of going on a mission. what do you think?

Leave a Reply

